Travel

Sweet Home Alabama

After a much needed sleep, I showered (in natural spring water), packed and headed to the breakfast buffet of kings. When in Rome and all…Off by 8.30, I had Darwin Falls all to myself. The short hike started straight forward and ended with me clambering over rocks (one even had a ladder and a rope to help) and jumping back and forth over the stream – my favourite kind of hike.I particularly loved seeing lots of wildlife – much more abundant in the greenery than in the desert.And then I was at the peaceful waterfalls.Next stop, Alabama. Not the Alabama you’re thinking of though – the Alabama Hills are the setting of many a Western movie. They are filled with incredible rock formations. I only had time for one hike but I think I chose a good one in the Arch Loop Trail.It wasn’t long before the tummy rumbled so I found a quaint American fast food joint for chicken and fries.Then it was off to Big Pine to see the Roosevelt Tree.And on to Bristlecone Pine Forest, the home of the oldest living trees on earth – and some impressive dead ones too. These photos don’t do this forest justice in the slightest – it was incredible.All the way, the Sierra Nevada mountain range was spectacular – particularly on the way to and from the forest. But I was pressed for time so enjoyed the scenery from the driver’s seat only.This time making it to my hostel before dark (332km accomplished in style), I enjoyed a relaxing evening chatting with other travelers – many of whom are using this as a base for the Pacific Coastal Trail hike (huge respect) – and ate dinner in a Mexican restaurant in the village. Mammoth Lakes is a ski resort but we’re out of season so it’s pretty peaceful. The warnings are high for bears but so far, this is my only encounter…

2 thoughts on “Sweet Home Alabama

Leave a comment